Book Review – The Girls

Why are people so fascinated by the weird and creepy? Take for example car crashes. You’re driving down the 401 and you notice traffic is slowing down to that awful line of cars that fills you with that feeling of dread in your stomach. You’re waiting and wondering and slowly creeping by until you notice there’s been an accident! You immediately perk up to have a better look, to investigate the scene and suddenly, for a moment, you’re no longer worried about the line or the slow crawl you’re moving at. Strange isn’t it?

Are you that person that watches crime dramas? Are you that person who instantly in hyper focus when they mention kidnappings or cults on the news? If you’re nodding along and looking around you pretending you’re not nodding along then this book is for you!

dfsdfdf

The Girls by Emma Cline is set in Northern California through the view of a woman now in her early 30s remembering the summer of the late 1960s and the cult she was a part of. Here’s the deets from Goodreads.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.

I don’t even know how I feel about this book. When I was in high school I was always fascinated by cults. I wanted to know everything about them. I also wanted to know what happens to your body when you die, how serial killers tick, and what romantic comedy to watch next. So I was a bit morbid but also fairly normal. I spoke to a few friends about this and they said the exact same thing so either all my friends are just as weird as I am or this just happens to be a phenomenon that baffles people. That was quite the tangent there, what I’m getting at is I wonder if I read this book in a different time in my life I would’ve enjoyed it more.

For me it was just a book about a poor little rich girl whose parents are divorced and wants to act out because she’s no longer the centre of attention. That’s all it was. Even when the woman is not re-imagining her childhood she just wants whomever she meets to be instantly in love with her (man, woman, child).

The plot was pretty boring, I mean, … nothing happens! The entire time I was just sitting there thinking so is there a big reveal at the end? It was just eery and creepy and nothing about it made me want to finish it but I did because I promised I would write a review.

My favourite part about reading is connecting with characters and seeing their development throughout the book. When that doesn’t happen I don’t feel a connection and I cannot seem to get through the book. Didn’t really see what all the hype was about but like I said earlier… people love the weird and creepy. As long as it isn’t happening to them.

Page count – 355 pages
Rating – 28c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e728c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e7 2 Oakley stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Girls

  1. The reviews I’ve seen on this have been pretty blah across the board. I may just skip this one. It’s kind of disappointing considering all the hype that went with it. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

