Book Review – The Graces

dfsdfsdf

 

 

After a bit of a hiatus due to moving I bring you a new review! The Graces by Laure Eve came out last week and I read it in anticipation for excellence! Unfortunately, it did not deliver for me. Before I get into that here’s the synopsis from Goodreads.

Everyone said the Graces were witches.
They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.
They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.
All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

When I read the blurb about this book I immediately wanted to get my hands on it! I was anxious, I was impatient, and when I saw the snippet on the back cover mentioning that it’s “Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets The Craft” my 90s/early 2000s self squealed for joy. And that’s about where that joy ended.

The Characters – I seriously did not relate to any of them. Nor did I like any of them. Not even a side character. Nothing. I just kept getting more angry at “River” and more weirded out by The Grace family.

The Plot – basically it’s about a girl who wants to be popular and wants to force a guy to fall in love with her. That’s what I got out of this one. It’s so unfortunate because there was very little magic and it was so slow. It felt like it was dragging on and on and I was slowly moving through the mud trying to get to the end of it.

The Cover – okay the cover is BEAUTIFUL. It’s so well put together and the fine details are perfect and I want to live in it’s beauty.

It’s too bad I was so looking forward to a book about witches because I’m always craving more books about witches. And demons. And magic. And all things supernatural. Just remember this is all about how I felt about the book. You may find yourself loving it and if you do that’s wonderful! I truly believe that even if one person is not a fan of a book the next person may very well be its #1 fan. I myself always separate reviews from my mind when I read a book. It’s a handy tool my friends. Let me know if you’ve read this or when you read it I would love to hear your thoughts! It’s always good to hear from others, who knows, you may just change my mind!

Page Count – 432 pages
Rating – 28c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e728c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e7 2 little Oakley stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Graces

    1. I would still give it a try you might like it more than I do. I guess I was expecting a book similar to A Discovery of Witches or something based on the synopsis but it wasn’t that at all. Hope you end up liking it more than me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

