Book Review – A Shadow Bright & Burning

sfdfdsfsd
This was a book I was very excited to get my hands on. After seeing it float around on “bookstagram” I really wanted to know what it was about! Magic! All I need to hear is the word magic and I’m running around like a dog on a hunt. I finished this book about 2 days ago and I’m still unsure how I feel about it. Here’s a snippet from Goodreads.

 I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?
Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

At first I was intrigued with the storyline as the first couple chapters were pretty engaging and then it sort of just got stagnant for me and then it would be really engaging and then I would find myself thinking of my next read. And it just kept running around in circles… over and over.

I found the characters pretty good. The main character didn’t annoy me or frustrate me but she didn’t make me like her either. It was just…stagnant. Here I go using that weird word again. Stagnant water. Still. As if the world was on pause and I was continuing to wait for something different to come along.

I will say I really did enjoy the twist the author created. I’m not going to go into it but I didn’t see it coming so that was a turn in my stagnant water. This metaphor is totally not working (haha).

This is the 3rd book in a row where I have wanted to quit but forced myself to go on only to find myself liking the ending. Strange, very strange. So I don’t really have anything else to say about this one.. it was good. Not bad. Not great. It was alright. I would still recommend it as it was a quick read and I did enjoy it overall!

Page Count – 416 pages

Rating – 2.5 Oakley stars 28c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e728c0f842f1ae0046e59cc2b8afdf06e7

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review – A Shadow Bright & Burning

  1. I just read a review where the person loved it! Bummed it didn’t do that for you. I was saying that the whole monster-fighting business is a lot like The Bone Witch and I was not a big fan of that book, so it makes me nervous to read this one (which is dumb, because I’m sure they’re very different)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

