Book Review – This Savage Song


After finishing this book I had a feeling of unsettlement. I couldn’t quite figure out what it was that had me unsettled. It wasn’t a “I can’t wait to read the next book” or “that was so good it changed my life”, no it was a bit more different. After spending a few days pondering about it I realized what it was. The feeling of unsettlement was due to the fact that I read this one at the wrong stage of my life. Had I read this as a teen I would’ve loved it. It was just my inability to connect to the characters. Which isn’t even a big deal and I hope you’ll consider reading this one!

Here’s a synopsis!
Kate Harker and August Flynn’s families rule opposite ends of Verity, a grisly metropolis where violent acts summon real monsters: bloodsucking Malchai; clawing Corsai; and soul-stealing Sunai. The truce that keeps the families at peace is crumbling, and August is sent to spy on Kate. But when Harker’s men try to kill her and pin it on the Flynns, August and Kate find themselves running from both sides, in a city where monsters are real…

The one thing I really enjoyed from TSS was her view on monsters. Schwab is definitely my kindred spirits when it comes to villains. I always find myself rooting for villains (I apologized if I’ve talked about this too much in past reviews I just can’t help it guys!) even if they’re as horrible as The Commandant from An Ember In The Ashes or even Bellatrix from Harry Potter. I just can’t help it, something about them draws me to them! This is probably why I’m a slytherin isn’t it? Schwab has a way of crafting her villains to make me want to befriend them. There’s no black and white, it’s all shades of grey and that is why I enjoyed TSS even though I couldn’t fully commit to the characters.

All that being said Schwab is a wonderful writer. I enjoyed reading her words and am really excited to pick up one of her adult series.

Rating – 3 stars

Page count – 464 pages

Leave a Reply

